The Chief Surveillance Commissioner is supported by six Ordinary Surveillance Commissioners –┬áthree from England & Wales, two from Scotland, and one from Northern Ireland:

  • Sir John Saunders
  • Lord Bonomy
  • Sir Colin Mackay
  • Lord Bracadale
  • Sir George Newman
  • Sir John Sheil

All the Surveillance Commissioners must be persons who hold or have held high judicial office, which means that they have been Court of Appeal or High Court judges or the Scottish equivalent.